Understanding the Importance of Page Settings and their relationship to Search


Common questions about Page Settings   
What does the "Publish" check box do?
Summary: Checking the box makes the page you are on visible to visitors, unchecking the box makes it visible only to you designated site or page editors in edit mode. For example, you may work on a page over time, but not want to publish the page until it is ready for viewing, or you may want to give another person or student access to edit a page or part of a page, but require that you as the teacher or page owner approves the page before "publishing" the page to the public.